Studio Lighting… in my basement.

Okay, so this is more of a “mother’s” post than a “photographer’s” post, but I think it’s still valid.  The elementary school that my daughter goes to is trying out a new school photographer, who shall remain nameless.   Now, I’m all for trying out new things and I certainly understand that it must be a LOT of work to set up school shots!   However, I have several issues with the way this company does business and have not been impressed over this past year. 

My biggest pet peeve is that you have order PRINTS before they’ll even take your child’s photograph.  Gone are the days of seeing the proofs & choosing which and/or how many you want.  No.  If you even want the privilege of having your child’s photograph TAKEN on picture day, you have to order your prints before hand.  And they don’t do a make-up shoot/refund your money if you don’t like the shot THEY pick.  Am I crazy for thinking that’s ridiculous???  Maybe I am…

Second, and what brings me to this post, they give us no notice as far as advanced warning goes before the shoot.  Last week, my daughter had strep throat and was absent on Mon., and Wed.  They sent home the notice with her on Tuesday that her kindergarten cap & gown/graduation shoot was on Thursday.  Now, in my slightly ill, super tired, know my daughter’s not going to school on Wed. state, I neglected to look in her folder and missed it completely.  As such, when she went to school on Thursday, her photograph was NOT taken and I was told I could schedule a time at the studio for her if I wanted cap & gown pictures.

Um, no.

So, her teacher was kind enough to let me borrow a cap & gown and I got busy setting up my studio lighting in my basement to see how it works in a dark, dungeon-like setting.  Here are the results.  Not too bad.  I’d love to know what you think!  **I’m posting these from pictures sent to myself from my Facebook page, so take them with a grain of salt.  I’ll update them with original files tonight when I get back to my own computer!

