Elementary Grunge

This weekend I had the wonderful opportunity to shoot at an abandoned elementary school in Zebulon (yes, it’s as small & quaint as it sounds), Georgia, with Gail Des Jardin, a friend and fellow photographer.  She and two of her photographer friends from Atlanta traversed the miles to come down to my neck of the woods so we could shoot at this school, which has obviously been abandoned for some years.  We had a surprise guest appearance by Donna Rosser (a.k.a. The Barefoot Photographer), Executive Director of the photography center at Serenbe , which was wonderful as well.

Traipsing around an abandoned elementary school was both nostalgic and creepy, for lack of a better word.  The building is allegedly haunted and I certainly felt compelled to look over my shoulder every few minutes.  There was some comedic relief, however, when the other photographers were slightly freaked out by this strange music they kept hearing – which turned out to be just my whistling, which I do (mostly under my breath) nearly all the time.  The building itself is a one-story, one-hallway brick structure, with maybe 8 classrooms, an auditorium with a stage, and one bathroom with no stalls, just toilets out in the wide open.  One would hope there was another restroom just for the staff, but I didn’t see it.

I haven’t had time to go through and process all 200+ of the images I captured that day, but here are a few of my favourites so far.  I hope you enjoy them; please feel free to leave comments and let me know what you think!

Higher Education

Higher Education

Secret Cupboard

Washed Away

Lights Out

Flushed

