Savannah in Winter

Oh, my, has it really been that long since I blogged last??  Wow.  I promise I will try very hard not to let THAT happen again!!  I’ve been very busy making photographs, apparently just a bit behind on the uploading.  Let me start with our annual trip to Savannah and the Mardi Gras parade on Tybee Island (or “hybee tybee” as my 4 year old calls it!).

As usual, our first stop is always River Street! And it’s always River Street Sweets! We got to watch the guys dip the candy apples since we were there just as the store was opening.

Image

Lifesaver on River Street

Image

A bedroom on board the Peacemaker.

Image

Candy apples at River Street Sweets

That afternoon, I took the kids over to Fort Pulaski, halfway between Savannah and Tybee Island.  I haven’t been there since I was a child and my mother laughed when I told her I was taking my kids out there.  “Don’t you remember how much you hated it!?”, she asked. “Yeah, why do you think I’m taking my kids there??  It all rolls downhill!”.   Our timing was great, though, as we got to watch the old fashioned fire arm presentation. Yikes!

Image

The moat around Fort Pulaski

image

Shooting the Rifle

Image

Close up of the National Park ranger presenting on the Civil War rifles.

Image

The ammunition tunnels outside Fort Pulaski

On Saturday, we headed over to Tybee Island.  First, though, we climbed the Tybee Lighthouse; all 178 steps.  Then, on to the parade!  It’s a family-friendly parade and the floats give out beads to all the kids.  My two have a grand time every year!

Image

The Tybee Island Lighthouse

Image

One of the costumes in the Mardi Gras parade

On our last day there, Sunday morning, we woke up and decided to to back into Savannah proper and visit the old pre-Civil War era Colonial Cemetery and Forsyth Park.  When the Yankees came through, they desecrated and knocked over the headstones; several un-matchable headstones are bolted to the wall running along one side of the graveyard.  It’s a really beautiful little cemetery.  From there we went to the park and the kids ran around on the playgrounds and played on the stage!

Image

“Leftover” Headstones in Colonial Cemetery

Image

Statue in the Cemetery

Image

Statue in Forsyth Park.

All in all, we had a wonderful trip, as always.  I’m pretty sure you could go to Savannah in the middle of the coldest, most miserable winter and still have a stupendous time.  As it was, we had 70 degrees in February!  I’ll take it!  I’ll leave you with this landscape shot from outside the entrance to Fort Pulaski; in it, if you look closely, you can see two of Georgia’s 7 lighthouses.

Image

Two of Georgia’s Seven Lighthouses (if you can find them!)

