Sweetwater Creek State Park

Sweetwater Creek State Park is a 215-acre park about 15 miles straight West of Atlanta, GA.  On a whim, I decided to take a trip there with my father for the first time last week.  Now, I don’t know about you, but when I hear the word “creek” I imagine a small, burbling body of water about 10 – 20 feet wide.  Right?

Not so, Sweetwater.  This behemoth “creek” dwarfed whatever I had in mind and was just a beautiful, beautiful place.  I truly felt like I was hiking in back-woods Georgia, even though I was just outside the city.  There are three trails to choose from, all of which lead to the abandoned textile mill (which was burned by the Yankees during the Civil War) and the “falls”.  We chose the Red (1 mile) hike, but there are also 2 and 3 miles hikes available to those who have more time.

The mill race (water to feed the wheel in the mill diverted from the creek)

The mill race (water to feed the wheel in the mill diverted from the creek)

The abandoned mill

The abandoned mill

Former chimney

Former chimney

Far side of the abandoned mill.

Far side of the abandoned mill.

The "creek"

The “creek”

Testing my father's new micro lens.

Testing my father’s new micro lens.

Rare picture of myself with my father.

Rare picture of myself with my father.
