Starr’s Mill

Photo by C. Richard Weisser

Photo by C. Richard Weisser

So, I kept seeing pictures of this gorgeous mill in central GA, but I never had any idea where it was.  For some reason, I assumed it was WAAAAAY up North, or out West, or down South.  Turns out, it’s about 20 miles from me.  Figures.

Anyway, a few weeks ago I decided to take a trip and check it out for myself.  Now, this was 2 days after some of the craziest rain we’ve had here in a while.  As such, the water was really high and roaring over the dam.  In true Catherine-fashion, I got a picture of everything fascinating and completely neglected to upload a ‘grand scheme’ shot of the actual mill.  As such, the photo to the left is NOT mine.

If you’re ever out near Fayetteville or Peachtree City, Georgia, I’d recommend stopping by.  There’s not much to see other than the mill, but it’s worth a visit.  Apparently it’s one of the most photographed sites in the state.  Here are my additions!

Mill windows

Mill windows

Fishing hook stuck on rock

Fishing hook stuck on rock

My take on the dam fall

My take on the dam fall

Moving downstream

Moving downstream

