Stink Creek!

There’s this local creek near my neighborhood that has the nickname, “Stink Creek”.  When I was younger (yes, I moved back INTO the neighborhood that I grew up in, even after spending several years living 1000+ miles away), my friends & I used to spend hours and hours and hours in this creek in the summer.  The banks are steep, the water up to about 4′ deep in some places.  We used to walk hours in each direction, just to see what we could find.  We’d come home soaked and filthy.  And we survived.

So, I went back last week.

Not much has changed; it’s grown over a bit and has gotten a little more ‘wild’, but it’s still there.  It still smells, but not as bad.  The water still has this greenish, opaque look, though, that would certainly keep me from letting my children run around in it all day!  🙂

The only major surprise was this massive common snapping turtle that nearly gave me a heart attack when I glanced up-stream.  Thankfully, he crawled into the deep pool and stayed there!

Common Snapping Turtle, a big one!

Common Snapping Turtle, a big one!

Driftwood in a creek

Driftwood in a creek

Up stream

Up stream

Deep pool (looks tropical, doesn't it?)

Deep pool (looks tropical, doesn’t it?)

Pipe spanning the creek

Pipe spanning the creek

